I am watching – and waiting

I am watching and waiting. I am watching those who are mine as they bicker and argue and declare their infallibility. I am watching those who are not, swear and profane, and declare their sovereignty. I am watching while those who have found Me strive and battle for their own position and salvation. I am watching while those who are lost ignore Me and endeavour to find a God within themselves.

I am waiting for those who are Mine to submit to My will. I am waiting for those who are not to respond to My Word. I am waiting while those who have found Me rest in My peace. I am waiting while those who are last recognise Me as I have revealed Myself in My beloved Son.

I am watching and waiting for My people to truly humble themselves before Me. I am watching and waiting for the final souls to be gathered into the fold. I am watching and waiting for my children to acknowledge their place within the Body. I am watching and waiting for My sheep to recognise the shepherd.

I am watching and waiting for those who have everything to recognise the signs of the times. I am watching and waiting while those who have nothing fight to retain their lives. I am watching and waiting while those who listen prepare themselves to hear My Voice. I am watching and waiting while those who are deaf sink hopelessly into the mire of their own making.

I am watching and waiting for the final hour. I am watching and waiting for the closing stages. I am watching and waiting for that which I have promised long ago. I am watching and waiting.

8 thoughts on “I am watching – and waiting

  1. Linda Kruschke September 25, 2011 / 3:21 am

    This is a great post. It reminded me of something C.S. Lewis wrote in “Mere Christianity.” He was talking about how people scoff because Jesus has not returned as has been prophesied, but that what they don’t realize is that God is really being patient, and that when the Author leaves the stage, the play is over. (I wanted to go look it up and give the exact quote, but I just didn’t have time today). When the play is finally over, many will be surprised. For the sake of some I know who are still lost, I’m glad He’s waiting. Peace, Linda

    • Little Things of Life September 25, 2011 / 4:09 am

      I have been convicted with some thoughts about this matter, just during the past few days. It’s so easy to say “Come quickly, Lord Jesus,” but God may be waiting (even for people I’m praying for) to come to Him. In that regard, I feel it’s almost selfish of me to want Him to hurry. For generations, people have prayed that prayer — and, yet, He was patient enough to wait and give ME time to come to Him! Yes — I, too, am glad He’s waiting! =)

  2. freedomborn September 25, 2011 / 3:54 am

    Dear Myfanwy, I was encouraged, uplifted and blessed by the Devotion you shared one thought that touched my heart was….. I am waiting while those who have found Me rest in My peace. I am waiting while those who are last recognise Me as I have revealed Myself in My beloved Son.

    When I’m blessed by a message the Lord brings Scripture to confirm its Truth, I hope you don’t mind Linda if I share a few of them.

    John 8:33 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

    John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

    Romans 6:17-19 But God be thanked, that ye were the servants of sin, but ye have obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine which was delivered you. Being then made free from sin, ye became the servants of righteousness.

    To have our rest in Jesus we choose to walk in Love and righteousness as He did but not by our flesh but by His empowering.

    Thank you Myfanwy and God bless you greatly – Christian Love Anne.

  3. Little Things of Life September 25, 2011 / 4:00 am

    Myfanwy — Thanks for sharing this with us. You have such a wonderful way with words…and expressing the truths of The Word!

  4. freedomborn September 26, 2011 / 9:12 am

    Hi Myfanwy, God sent me here and I have been very blessed – thanks for keeping in touch and don’t forget your always welcome.

    Many people think that Jesus remained a little baby meek and mild but He grew up and He stood up to anyone one who put His Father down .. that was a big No! No! it should be for us too.

    Then there are those who are secret Christians, it’s safer, others won’t make fun of me or call me a Bible basher … God does not want His Truth to remain private, we are to shout it out from the roof tops , it’s God’s Truth that changes lives because it leads to Jesus who is The Truth … if we are called a Bible basher… we say thanks!

    Kind regards Anne.

  5. Noel Williams September 28, 2011 / 12:45 pm

    Excellent post. Thanks for sharing God’s Word through your thoughts. “He that hath ears to hear, let him hear” (Matthew 11:15). Yes indeed, a christian should keep the faith but not to him or herself.
    16 Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. 18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age” (Matthew 28:16-20 NIV).

Leave a comment